Loading ...
2017 LEN Events News Open Water Swim Cup Open Water Swimming

LEN European Open Water Swimming Cup, 2nd leg, Barcelona (ESP) – Summary  

Rasovszky (HUN) clinches second win, Ruiz (ESP) delights hosts 

After winning the opening leg of the LEN European Open Water Swimming Cup in Eilat (ISR), Hungary’s Kristof Rasovszky came first in Barcelona as well. The women’s race ended in a thriller as Paula Ruiz (ESP) touched in 0.7sec ahead of Anna Olasz (HUN).

Kristof Rasovszky is on the winning trail: the 20-year old Hungarian hit devastating form recently, he won the first leg of the LEN European Cup in Eilat, added a career-first World Cup triumph in Setubal and now went on winning another 10km race in Barcelona (and in the meantime won the home nationals on 10km, too). Last year’s junior world and European champion built a 2.2sec gap over 16 year-old Frenchman Jean-Baptiste Clusman by the end, Germany’s experienced warrior Christian Reichert came third 5.1sec behind the winner.

In the women’s event the home fans were happy to watch Paula Ruiz’s win which ended a thrilling battle with two Hungarians, World Championship silver medallist Anna Olasz and Eilat winner Kata Somenek. The three touched in within a span of 1.3sec but the Spaniard was the fastest in the leading pack.

Four years after the highly successful World Championships, Barcelona was back to the international open water circuit and staged an outstanding race in an outstanding environment. The newly shaped LEN European Cup will continue in August when Navia (ESP, 5 August) and Copenhagen (DEN, 26 August) host the following legs. The final is due on 16-17 September in Bracciano (ITA).


LEN European Open Water Swimming Cup, 2nd leg


  1. Kristof Rasovszky (HUN) 1:52:32.6
  2. Jean-Baptiste Clusman (FRA) 1:52:34.8
  3. Christian Reichert (GER) 1:52:37.7


  1. Paula Ruiz Bravo (ESP) 2:02:02.1
  2. Anna Olasz (HUN) 2:02:02.8
  3. Kata Onon Somenek (HUN) 2:02:03.4


2017 European Open Water Swimming Cup – Legs

Leg 1 – Eilat (ISR), 26 March (10km)

Leg 2 – Barcelona (ESP), 1 July (10km)

Leg 3 – Navia (ESP), 5 August (7.5km)

Leg 4 – Copenhagen (DEN), 25 August (6km)

Final – Bracciano (ITA), 16-17 September (5 and 10km)