Loading ...
2019 Diving News

Tokyo 2020 – DIVING Qualification System

Upon request of LEN President, Mr. Paolo Barelli, the Tokyo 2020 FINA Diving Qualification System was put on the agenda of the FINA Executive meeting held in Lausanne (SUI) on 24 September 2019.

The objective was to clarify its proper interpretation and the impact on the Continents’ quota places for Tokyo 2020.

At such meeting the FINA Executive decided that in case the winner of the Continental Championships (e.g., Kiev 2019 European Championships) had already qualified for Tokyo 2020 through the Gwangju FINA World Championships, then the next highest ranked diver at Continental Championships not yet qualified, would obtain a quota place for his/her NOC.

Thanks to the above decision of the FINA Executive and as confirmed by the FINA Executive Director, we inform you that the following athletes have all earned one quota place for their respective NOC through the Kiev 2019 European Diving Championships.

3M springboard men – GBR – James Heatly

3M springboard women – RUS –  Kristina Ilinykh

10M platform men – RUS – Ruslan Ternovoi      

10M platform women – UKR – Sofiia Lyskun

FINA will also separately inform the concerned NFs/NOCs accordingly.