Loading ...
2018 LEN Events News Open Water Swim Cup Open Water Swimming

LEN European Open Water Cup – Leg 1, Eilat (ISR) – summary

Hungarian double in the opening race

Just as last year, Hungarian swimmers clinched the respective titles in the first leg of the LEN European Open Water Cup in Eilat (ISR). Kristof Rasovszky retained his title among the men and Nikolett Szilagyi came first among the women.

Though annual open water swimming races barely produce the same ranks, the men’s competition in Eliat saw the same three athletes on the podium as in 2017. Kristof Rasovszky, who won all legs last year and finished atop in the overall, repeated his win ahead of Russia’s experienced duo of Kirill Abrosimov and Evgenii Drattsev. Last year these two finished in reverse order, this time European champion Abrosimov clinched the silver, just 1.25sec behind Rasovszky while multiple world championship medallist Drattsev came third with further 5.15sec adrift.

Among the women last season’s Eilat bronze medallist Nikolett Szilagyi won a tremendous battle ahead of Italy’s Ginevra Taddeucci and Russia’s Anastasiia Krapivina – the top three hit the panel in a span of 1.65sec.

Medallists shared a pot of €10,000 – the winners got €2,500 respectively –, the next stop is Gravelines (FRA) on 31 May.


LEN Open Water Cup, Leg 1 – Eilat (ISR)            –        COMPLETE RESULTS


  1. Kristof Rasovszky    (HUN) 1:50:54.85
  2. Kirill Abrosimov     (RUS) 1:50:56.10
  3. Evgenii Drattsev     (RUS) 1:51:02.25


  1. Nikolett Szilagyi    (HUN) 2:04:13.95
  2. Ginevra Taddeucci    (ITA) 2:04:15.50
  3. Anastasiia Kaprivina (RUS) 2:04:15.60


LEN Open Water Cup – 2018

Leg 1, 25 March – Eilat (ISR)

Leg 2, 31 May – Gravelines (FRA)

Leg 3, 30 June – Barcelona (ESP)

Leg 4, 28 July – Navia (ESP)

Leg 5, 25 August – Copenhagen (DEN)

Leg 6, 9 September – Bled (SLO)